Congratulations to Zaniya Lewis, HSSJ minor, winner of a Knapp fellowship for 2019-2020

Zaniya's project "The Climb Is Our Story" is a program that will be facilitated by YesSheCanCampaign (YSCC) and The Multicultural Student Services Center at The George Washington University in partnership with School Without Walls. YesSheCanCampaign is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization that uses live events and technology to provide educational resources to girls, young women and youth nationwide.  The goal of this program is to ensure that local high school students are well-prepared for college and their careers.The program will provide college and career readiness skills to School Without Walls high school students who participate in the MSSC student internship program. GW students will facilitate college and career readiness workshops with the assistance of the MSSC twice a week during the 2019-2020 academic year.  The program will include a service component where students will volunteer at least once a month at a local non-profit organization. At the end of the program, students will have the opportunity to participate in a Career Quest visiting local businesses in D.C. In addition, students will leave with a portfolio that consist of college and career tools.

Yesshecan table

The faculty, students, and alumni who make up the Human Services & Social Justice Program are bound by a common interest in social justice and work towards bettering communities both locally and globally. Students develop their skills and interests by working closely with the faculty who are invested in the program and in their students as individuals.

2018 GW Alumni Awards: Ashley Trick

Ashley N. Trick, BA '15, MPA '18 | Program Associate for Immersion Service at the Honey W. Nashman Center for Civic Engagement and Public Service

Cheers to our Human Services Class of 2017! Congratulations to our Academic Award Winners!

Honey W. Nashman Outstanding Senior in Human Services & Social Justice Award
Rachel Naugle and Leah Cohen 

Special Honors Awards: Teresa Cal, Becca Levy, Abby Marco, Abbie Martin, Sara Policastro, Victoria Rowe, Charleene Smith

   Special honors recipients